Our online museums
The Association
Occitanie Musées is the Association of Curators and Scientific Personnel of the Occitanie Museums. It brings together scientific staff from the Museums of France and cultural and heritage establishments in the Occitanie region. It integrates more than a hundred professionals in all areas of museum activity (management, conservation, mediation, documentation etc.). The Association is the regional arm of the AGCCPF (The national Association of curators and Museum professionals and the public heritage sites of France)
Museum Information

Musée du textile et du peigne en corne (Textile and Horn Comb)

Lavelanet | 09

The stages of making a horn comb and a bolt of fabric are presented. Through the workings of manual and mechanical machines, visitors can learn about the evolution of these activities from the medieval period to the methods used today. Special attention is given to the stages of manual and mechanical spinning and manual and mechanical warping and weaving.  Specific crafts like tapestry, brocade, knitting and felting are also covered. The social conditions of the worker, the history and collections of local textile producers round off the visit.

Temporary exhibitions, events, demonstrations, meetings and exchanges with visiting artisans complete the activity calendar along with audio visual materials, videos,  a digital audio guide and a virtual tour.

Musée du textile et du peigne en corne (Textile and Horn Comb) 65, rue Jean Jaurés
09300 Lavelanet 05 61 03 89 19

Contact the museum
Video of the Museum
Rates and opening times

Rates

Individual rates :

  • Adult : €7
  • Child : €5
  • Less than 7 years : free

Group rates, from 15+ people : 

  • adult : €6
  • child : €5
  • less than 7 years : free

Educational package visits :

  • Adults : €10/pers.
  • Demonstration or introductory tapestry workshop : €2.50 sup/pers.
  • Visit to the Tissages Cathares (Cathares Weavings) : €2.50sup/pers

Guided tours in English : €10

Opening times

Open from the Spring school holidays through the Autumn school holidays

In April, May, June, September, October, November :

  • Tuesday to Sunday (including public holidays)
  • 2pm-6pm
  • Closed  1st May

In July and August :

  • Tuesday to Sunday (including public holidays)
  • 10am-1pm and 2pm-8pm

For Groups:

  • Guided museum tours available year round – reservation required
Access and Accessibility

Access

  • Accessible for people with reduced mobility
  • Parking nearby

Accessibility

Physical disability Pram access

Nos musées en ligne
L’association
Occitanie Musées est l'Association des Conservateurs et Personnels Scientifiques des Musées d’Occitanie. Elle regroupe les personnels scientifiques des Musées de France et des établissements à but culturel et patrimonial de la région Occitanie. Elle fédère plus d’une centaine de professionnels dans tous les domaines d'activités des musées (direction, conservation, médiation, documentation, régie...). L'Association est une section régionale de l’AGCCPF, Association nationale des conservateurs et des professionnels des musées et des patrimoines publics de France.
Accès adhérent
Fiche musée

Musée du textile et du peigne en corne

Lavelanet | 09

Sont présentées les étapes de fabrication d’un peigne en corne et d’un tissu.  A l’aide d’outils manuels et machines mécaniques en démonstrations et en productions pour comprendre l’évolution de ces activités de l’époque médiévale à l’activité contemporaine… En particulier concernant les étapes du filage manuel à la filature mécanique et de l’ourdissage et tissage manuel à l’ourdissage et tissage mécanique. Sont également abordés des spécificités comme la tapisserie, le jacquard, le tricotage et le feutrage. La partie sociale, ouvrière, historique et collections textiles des entreprises locales.

Expositions temporaires, évènements, démonstrations, rencontres et échanges avec des artisans viennent ponctuer la saison ainsi que des outils de médiations vidéos, visite numérique par audioguide et visite virtuelle.

Musée du textile et du peigne en corne 65, rue Jean Jaurés
09300 Lavelanet 05 61 03 89 19

Contacter le musée

Le musée en vidéo

Tarifs & horaires

Tarifs

Tarifs Individuels :

  • Adulte : 7€
  • Enfant : 5€
  • Moins de 7 ans : gratuit

Tarifs Groupes (à partir de 15 personnes) : 

  • Adulte : 6€
  • Enfant : 5€
  • Moins de 7 ans : gratuit

Forfait visites pédagogiques : 

  • Adultes : 10€/pers.
  • Atelier de démonstration ou d’initiation tapisserie : 2.50€ sup/pers.
  • Visite entreprise Tissages Cathares : 2.50€ sup/pers.

Tarifs des visites en Anglais : 10€ 

Horaires

Musée ouvert des vacances scolaires du printemps aux vacances scolaires de l’automne

En avril, mai, juin, septembre, octobre et novembre : 

  • Du mardi au dimanche (jours fériés inclus)
  • De 14h à 18h
  • Fermé le 1er mai

Juillet et août : 

  • Du mardi au dimanche (jours fériés inclus)
  • De 10h à 13h et de 14h à 18h

Pour les groupes :

  • Visites guidées du musée possibles tout le long de l’année – sur réservation

Accès & Accessibilité

Accès

  • Parking à proximité
  • Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite

Accessibilité

Handicap moteur Accès poussette